Summer Camp Intern Highlight

Emily Intern Camp2
My daily commute to work!

“My name is Emily Mitchem and I graduated from the University of Georgia in May with a major in Public Relations and a minor in Italian. During my time in Sorrento, I am interning with OpenClub gyms at their summer sports camp for kids.

I wanted to complete this internship because I thought it would be a great opportunity to use and improve my Italian language, meet local Italians and get a glimpse into sports development for children in Italy.

Emily at Camp Intern
A group of the kids patiently waiting through roll before beginning to play some sports!

I think this internship was perfect for me because it is a good mix of being fun and challenging. I also love that it gives me the opportunity to be outside enjoying the beautiful Sorrento weather! 

A “day on the job” for me usually consists of me riding my bicycle, provided to me by OpenClub, to the camp in Piano around 9:00. The mornings of the camp are focused on sports instruction so we divide up the kids (usually about 30-40) into three groups based on age/sports ability. We rotate through different sports such as volleyball, basketball, tennis, soccer and swimming until lunch at 1:00, which is the same time I leave to bike home for my other classes at Sant’Anna!”

Emily Camp Intern
A promotional sign for the camp. They are found all over Sorrento and in nearby cities Sant’Agnello and Piano di Sorrento
Leave a Reply

