Days Don’t Have to Be Typical

Here in the beautiful land of Sorrento life is a-buzz. Well, as a-buzz winter in Sorrento can be. The shops will start opening up as the weather gets warmer and the streets busier.

But before any of that: breakfast! Typically, I eat breakfast in our apartment where we have these super yummy pre-toasted toast things, but somimg_61191etimes I treat myself with a pastry. Until recently, coffee was not a typical addition. However, things have changed! I have had my first cappuccino (the morning coffee drink) and, much to my amazement, I actually enjoyed it… Which scares me because I’m afraid this is the beginning of the spiral into addiction. Oh well!

I have a brisk walk to the school, probably the shortest out of the students in the program so no complaining here. It doesn’t hurt that the view is absolutely beautiful. Especially with that man right there.img_6020

I’m taking three classes which have been condensed into two with an 150-hour internship for Education. I typically only have class Tuesday through Thursday, but my hours for my internship are a little up in the air at the moment! My Italian class is technically two classes because I am doing an accelerated version of Italian 101 followed by 102 in the same semester. It’s like a having a tutor who speaks fluent Italian, and Professoressa Nunzia is fabulous. My second class, Business of International Tourism, is a class that doesn’t exactly find a spot within my major but it definitely isn’t a blow off class. I can already tell how much Professor Corbino is going to teach us about what it means to be a responsible tourist and what sustainability truly looks like. He has already taught us so much about this region of Italy and all it has to offer. My internship has begun with observing in the classrooms of several different teachers as they teach English (English English too, not American English) as a second language in the same school where I am taking my courses. So far I have only had the pleasure of meeting a teacher named Lucy, and I already love her.

img_5987-2Lunch is usually an after thought, but at the end of the school day my roommate, Athena, and I head to the grocery store for dinner supplies. We have tried out several meals now, and I must say they have been pretty edible. There was this risotto that didn’t quite turn out last week… but what is life without failures? Now, I get to work to make it better each time. The food at the grocery stores is so fresh! We usually pick up our meat here, but where I buy my cheese and veggies changes from day to day. I even have a “cheese place.” There is a man on our street named Francesco who sells cheese, and I buy mozzarella from him. I am working up the nerve to try some different cheeses, like the Sorrentine formaggio “Treccia.” I work on ordering in Italian, and he calls me “bella.” That is one thing I love about the Italian people. They so appreciate you even attempting to speak to them in Italian, especially at the grocery store. Every time I have spoken Italian there their entire demeanor completely transforms. I love it. It makes me want to try harder to learn and speak this beautiful language.

Following dinner, if it’s Friday, Saturday or even Thursday we often go out. Just out on the town to check out the local scene. Most young people from Sorrento often leave the city to find fun elsewhere, but there are several places we have checked out in the area. There is a very new gelato place called PURO that stays open until people stop coming = around 1 to 2 am. Convenient for a late night gelato run! Inconvenient for the figure! Fortunately, it’s colder right now and the gelato cravings have not grown to uncontrollable proportions quite yet.

A day in Sorrento is like a day in San Diego, California. It’s a day that has amazing potential. It just happens to be in Italy. 🙂

thanks to Makayla Vandeveer , Point Loma Nazarene University

Leave a Reply

