Study Abroad Programs at Sant’Anna Institute can become the best experience of one’s life, Grazie Andrew!!

Ciao! My name is Andrew Lee, and I am a student at Sant’Anna Institute Sorrento Lingue for the Fall 2014 study abroad program. Let me start off by saying that I love Sorrento! It is so beautiful here, and I couldn’t have dreamed of a better place to spend four months of my life. In fact, I wish I could apply for the Spring 2015 program and stay here for another semester. The food is delicious and the people of Sorrento are so friendly, especially once they know that you are a study abroad student at Sant’Anna.

imageimageThe school itself is in an amazing location overlooking the sea, and on the other side of the Bay of Naples you can see Mt . Vesuvius in all its volcanic glory. Fortunately, it hasn’t erupted since I’ve been here so I’m not buried underneath tons of volcanic ash like the Pompeiians were back in 79 AD. Speaking of those poor Pompeiians, a couple weeks ago my archeology class went to check out the ancient ruins of which was amazing! They were such an advanced culture for their time. Did you know they were the inventors of fast food? Watch out McDonalds! The field trip to Pompeii and other trips we will be taking for class are just an example of why Sant’Anna is such a rewarding place to study abroad. It is such a unique opportunity to be able to visit and actually experience exactly what you are learning about in school. What better way to understand the ancient city of Pompeii than to see it with your own eyes? It’s unbeatable! Another thing I really like about Sant’Anna and the study abroad program here is that the classes are very interesting and the professors are all very passionate about their subjects but none of the classes are too demanding. The professors understand that as study abroad students, it is important for us to have the imageopportunity to travel around Italy and even around Europe. So they don’t bombard us with hours of busy work like a lot of my professors do back home. Last week Sant’Anna gave us a week off for Fall Break and many of us were able to travel around a little bit. Three of my wonderful friends (all of whom I met here in Sorrento) and I were able to go to Oktoberfest in Munich (which I highly recommend if you’re a fan of having fun) and also travel around Italy. We visited cities such as Florence, Siena, Bologna, and Verona and we all had a blast eating delicious pizza and pasta and taking in the beauty of Italy. By the end of the week we were all super duper exhausted, and we were so relieved to return to our home sweet home in Sorrento. All in all, studying abroad here with Sant’Anna has been the best experience of my life, and I never want to leave.

image I want this to last forever!! Yippee!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

