Intern In Italy

imageimageimageimage

 

Hello my name is Courtney Moe I am currently a student at Sant’Anna Institute studying Italian and doing an internship in Italy. If you think about it almost all of us can say that we have at one time or another worked in the field that I devote my time to studying, hospitality, it is practically impossible to avoid it. Before coming to Sorrento to begin my internship in Italy I thought I understood what working in the hospitality industry entailed, but now I can comfortably say that I had no idea.
I don’t think it is a coincidence that there always seems to be one common thing that people say when they leave America and immerse themselves into another culture, “Everything is so rushed in America, no one looks up to see what is happening around them.” I myself am just as guilty of this as anyone else. I have always looked at working in the hospitality field as a chore: dealing with rude customers, having to do everything they ask of you no matter how obnoxious it might be, smiling even when you are screaming at them on the inside, sometimes doing the same things over and over every day, working long hours, always staying after work to finish whatever you couldn’t complete because the guests needed all of your attention and the list could continue on and on. I think that if we are all being honest we could say all of these things about any job we have ever held that dealt with people.
But when I started my internship in Italy I realized a difference. I noticed that here they have not allowed all of those negative thoughts or “chore like mentalities” to get in the way of them actually exceeding the guests expectations and giving the guests the attention they desire and quite frankly need. At my internship in Italy I work at a quaint bed and breakfast called Palazzo Marziale. At Palazzo Marziale they understand what it looks like to really run a business the way it was intended to be run in the hospitality industry. Am I saying that they don’t ever mess up? No. Am I saying that every guest has the perfect experience? No. But am I saying that every guest has a voice and is treated: genuinely, fairly, and with the upmost respect? Yes.

At my internship in Italy I have put into practice all of things that I learn about in my classes and I have learned many usefully skills that I will most definitely be bringing back with me when I go home in December. Now I confidently feel that I can work in the hospitality industry unbiasedly, in a whole other way that I would not have even know about had I not come to do an internship in Italy.
And so I send a huge thank you to all of the staff at Sant’Anna for all that you have done for me, it would not have been possible without you.

Apply here for Spring 2015:

Www.santannainstitute.com 

logo-logo-new

 

Leave a Reply

