“It is important to take classes that will teach you more than a traditional U.S. academic course would.”

Creative Writing: Travel and Experience is not only the best class I’ve taken here at Sant’ Anna but throughout my college experience. This academic course has been the most eye-opening and rewarding course I have taken since starting college in the fall of 2012. As someone who believes that writing is the best outlet for my emotions, this course has helped give me something on which to focus the day to day challenges that sometimes seem so much larger when far from home and living in another country. The course encourages freedom of expression through writing a short novel. With few guidelines I am able to write about something that interests me. It’s something that I am glad to sit down and work on and am glad to get constructive criticism on from my professor, Marco.

Blog post author, Shannon, during a night on the town with fellow classmates in Sorrento.
Blog post author, Shannon, during a night on the town with fellow classmates in Sorrento.

Also included in this academic course is a short history of famous authors such as Walt Whitman. Being able to learn about and read the works of authors such as Whitman helps improve my own writing and gives me a new prospective on styles of writing.

While this isn’t the only class that Sant’ Anna offers that is interactive with students, I feel that it is the most rewarding academic course because of the attentiveness of the professor as well as the gratification that comes with reading and editing my own writing. Though personal opinion is important when selecting academic courses it is also important to take classes that will teach you more than a traditional U.S. academic course would. For me, creative writing is that course, maybe for you it is something else, either way Sant’ Anna has college classes that will give you an experience that will change the way you look at the education system in the U.S. and change your way of thinking when you head home to school at the end of the semester.

– Shannon Devaney, Fitchburg State University Class of 2016 & Fall semester 2014 student at Sant’Anna Institute

Leave a Reply

