My Semester Abroad! Caroline McCarry’s Blog goes international.

Caroline McCarry sits atop one of the many points on Mount Selaro in Capri!
Caroline McCarry sits atop one of the many points on Mount Selaro in Capri!

Everything about Sorrento is so beautiful; it’s hard to believe that I really get to live here for the next four months studying, traveling, eating, and soaking up the culture
Aside from the 30 plus long hours that I was awake for while traveling and settling in–I was too excited to sleep on the plane–everything has been unbelievably wonderful. Granted, there are a lot of differences that are already sticking out to me. So here are some first impressions of what’s different:

1. The showers are tiny. Like, not even room to turn around or lift your arms tiny.
2. There’s an actual key in the bathroom lock to lock the door with, and it’s kind of challenging to figure it out. I may have locked myself in the bathroom for several panicky minutes several times already…
3. Eating is an event. You can, and will, spend several hours eating every meal. On my first night here, I asked for the check after we had finished our meal because I’m the only one who speaks any Italian, and the server was confused as to why we were leaving so quickly.
4. Everything really does shut down in the middle of the day for a “siesta.” Don’t bother going to the store between 1:30 and 3:30, because everyone’s taking a well-deserved break.
5. People drive like maniacs. The streets are all stone, and the side streets are tiny, but that doesn’t stop people in tiny cars and on vespas from whipping around; I think they probably get used to be being crazy drivers and become talented at driving badly well.
6. Specific is not a word the Italians are very familiar with. Today I asked one of my professors when I would start my internship, and he told me that I would start later than the other students with internships because mine was a 3-credit one as opposed to a 6-credit one. I asked if he knew when, exactly, I would start work, and he shrugged and repeated “later.”

I realize that these are all very preliminary observations, many of which are rooted in deeper cultural systems than I yet understand, but I hope to explore if by talking to one another, we can have a better understanding of one another as people. And who knows; maybe by may I’ll stop gasping in delighted surprise every time I turn the corner and catch a glimpse of the beauty that is the Bay of Naples. Maybe, but I hope not.

Sono molto felice essere in Italia; é più bella che io posso immagine!

__________________________________________________________________________

For more on Caroline’s experience visit her blog at:
http://csmsorrento.umwblogs.org/

For other students’ blogs visit:
http://www.santannainstitute.com/en/downloads.php

Leave a Reply

